Survival in WotLK

I thought I'd make a Survival guide for all the new hunters out there.

I have been playing a hunter for over 3 years and I continue to learn information from Elitist Jerks.

Spec

This is my current Survival spec. This is a pretty standard Survival spec... Now if you're a fresh level 80 and you need some hit rating you can always pick up "Focused Aim" instead of "Go for the Throat" and "Careful Aim". Survival is a very good spec to start with if you're new to raiding with a hunter. It's very easy to manage and very easy to put out a decent amount of DPS. Now there is some play in your talents... You can focus more on a replenishment spec or a non-replenishment spec. Here's a quote from Elitist Jerks that is a list of MUST HAVE talents:

Every viable survival spec should have the following talents:

MM Tree:
- 5/5 Lethal Shots
- 5/5 Mortal Shots
- 3/3 Careful Aim (Only if you need hit rating)
- 1/2 Go for the Throat (1 pt is worth considerable dps, a 2nd point is only really useful if you have low crit)

SV Tree:
- 5/5 Improved Tracking (it is not required that your tracking type match the mob anymore, just that it be one of the supported mob types)
- 3/3 Trap Mastery (note this is a fairly low dps talent, so if you have a need for extra range you can choose to move these 3 points to Hawk Eye)
- 2/2 Survival Instincts
- 5/5 Survivalist
- 3/3 T.N.T.
- 3/3 Lock and Load
- 3/3 Hunter vs. Wild
- 3/3 Killer Instinct
- 5/5 Lightning Reflexes
- 1-3/3 Resourcefulness (the 2nd and 3rd points of this talent contribute extra dps, but at a lower rate than the first point, so it's a suitable scavenge point for other talents)
- 1-2/3 Expose Weakness (the 2nd point is recommended unless you have high crit and the 2pc T9 bonus, the 3rd point isn't useful unless your crit is very low)
- 1/1 Wyvern Sting (this contributes no dps but is required to pick up Noxious Stings)