An Alt-a-Holics Method for Gearing up Alts

direpath

The mileage may vary on this depending on how invested you are in the game so far. This is how I kit out my alts with higher-end gear to keep them on the leading edge as they level. This post assumes you are a subscriber.

Getting the basic gear

Custom gear is the best gear. It can be gained from most flashpoints, crafted, earned from quests, or purchased from the Cartel Market. My personal preference is CM sets. Few sets are directly purchasable off the CM as they are often found piecemeal in cartel packs. I recommend purchasing the sets from the GTN with credits, then using your coins to "unlock" the collection once you have a complete set. This allows an endless number of copies to any character on your account.

But I am new to the game..

Were I to start fresh on a new server or new account, here is what I would do...

Take the following Crew Skills on your first character:

Cybertech
Scavenging
Underworld Trading

This is the biggest money saver for alts. I suggest only RE'ing up the odd armoring schematics. This will give you the ability to make armouring up to max level for any character you make. Personally, I rarely find myself making the artifact level armoring for alts. Blue is plenty good enough. Your choice on how much REing you want to do.

Why just odd?

You really don't need to update your item mods every other level.

Why not mods?

Mods (and enhancements) are the cheapest to buy with Planetary Comms. Ever since they merged all the different planetary comms into one type, this made life easier. You should get plenty enough comms to get all the mods (9) and enhancements (7) you need to upgrade a character with a full set of custom (moddable) gear.

What about Hilts/Barrels?

Both of these cost 7 comms per, but given that you would only need 1 or 2, they remain rather affordable.

If you want to reduce that cost, level up an Artifice and Armstech next to help your future alts further.