Doom III & Satanic Symbols

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fiery Food Dude

First I'm a noob to this message board. And so far I haven't seen many objections on this message board concerning doom 3 release. I just built a new pc and have the latest stuff. So this game would run great on my machine!! But my heart tells me doom is bad and to not buy or play it. The santanic references, symbols and storyline are what bother me most. Especially in light of how wonderful God has been to me. The violence and gore don't seem to "conflict" like these other things. I almost quit playing max payne 2 just because of the short satanic element there. Just curious how you other Christian dudes feel about it.

I don't know much about Doom 3, honestly. But in general, I believe the context of the presentation is important. Is it glorifying satan/occultism? Or is it presented in the context of what it is - something bad - a negative? The Bible has many things in it that if put, say, in a movie, would be fairly risque to say the least. But they are there in the context of illuminating what is evil and what is holy. If a game or a movie is making light of evil, or portraying it in a way that makes it seem attractive, or harmless, it's not such a good thing. In the end, if you don't feel good about something, definitely don't watch/play/read it. The thrill will never be worth the consequences if you were right in the first place, and you haven't really lost anything by deciding not to partake - actually, chances are you've gained at least two hours to do something better with the short time you have on earth.

I'm not too offset by them. There will be symbols of Satan's influence wherever you go: NAMBLA is a good example, as well as many other more subtle things not quite as explicit as a pentagram printed in blood on the wall above a defiled corpse.