Help for a PC newb

Brydon

Legacy of Elijah Officer
Hey, I'm new to playing BF-BC2 from my computer... I got into the game on PS3... And I'm having a little trouble.

I'm having ugly "rubber-banding," where I keep walking over the same stretch of ground 3 times in a row. I've been seeing it on other players too where they disappear over here and reappear over there.

I don't know what causes this. I just got a new computer, and it should be fine. Does this have something to do with my connection? my settings? the server? Any advice for fixing this?

I also once got kicked off a server for "having more than 400 ping." I have no idea what that is... but presume it is connection related.

I haven't played online shooters since Quake. So I would really appreciate any tips or advice any of you could give.

It's a connection issue. What type of speed is your internet? Broadband? DSL? Cable?

First I would see if anyone is downloading. While a ping of about 120 is acceptable (at least to Alaskans, low is better), when you start hitting 200 ping, you'll rubberband, skip around, miss shots, etc. This is what ruins the gaming experience. If the downloads are off but you're gaming is still choppy, talk to your ISP to see about fixing the problem.

I've got ATT broadband (I guess). It's supposed to be pretty fast (I'm certainly paying enough for it).

First I would see if anyone is downloading.... If the downloads are off...

I'm not sure what this means in BC or how to check it.

If you mean something outside of the game, I'm the only one in my house. Norton AV might be checking something online periodically, but not enough to be the consistent problem that I'm having.

Is there a way to check my ping within the game and see what my stats are?
Does Windows 7 have any tools for improving this?

Also, I'm wireless... I assume that affects things. Is it just impossible to play wireless? I haven't had problems playing Guild Wars and the like in the past.