I need help with a Mage build please.

Reason

As I have been playing the class for a while now, I'm not really new to it. However, I am new to the Frost tree as I have never put 1 point into it. I've always been a Fire/Arc spec Mage. After patch 1.11, I'm considering going Fire/Frost as an elemental build. This is hard to go through though because I'm not sure on exactly where to put points. This is what I came up with so far.

http://www.wowhead.com/talent/?RZEg0z0cutVVMc0bh

Everyone says Shatter is one of the best talents, however I don't know what exactly classisfies as a "frozen target" since I never cast frost spells.

Feel free to move some talent points around and repost a new link for assistance.

Take care all and have a great Sunday!

Chris

I would assume (seeing as the talent branches out from Frost Nova) that it means any target that is immobilized by ice... aka frozen by a Frost Nova.

Frost Nova is the only spell that by default can freeze a target. If you put talents into frostbite, any spell that has a chill component can freeze the target. This includes: frost/ice armor, frostbolt, cone of cold, improved blizzard (if you put talents into blizzard it gets a chill component, and hence a chance to freeze). I would max out shatter, as it helps you to increase your chance for crits. Perhaps something like this, which is close to your current build:

31 fire/20 frost

I would also take a look dropping combustion for ice block as an alternative (not necessarily better, just an idea):

30 fire /21 frost

Just to throw in something extra, this is almost completely frost build I am considering for any 1.11 mage I make:

41 frost / 10 arcane

I like the fire and and frost trees the best in 1.11, but this build gives me an extra 10% mana efficiency (really complements the mana effeciency of the frost tree well), my polymorphs are less likely to be resisted (arcane focus), and my frost spells are slightly less likely to be resisted (arcane subtlety).