New website: Do we or dont we ...

Allanon

Well, I think I am pretty much rested up from my 5 years of running solo the TRiB website and stuff and I am slightly interested in developing a new site for our guild. What I am most interested in hearing from our guild mates though is if they think its worth it and if they are willing to contribute in time to being part of maintaining the site. I am considering a standard x-nuke (post, php, whatever other flavours out there) as I like the standard templates out there and there are some great WoW themes available. Basically I would provide our rank Veterans and up access to posting news (posting news is key to "maintaining" an active site). So let me know what ya'all think. (ya'all is just for you Tinie and all our southerners)

I think it would be a great idea! I have some experience doing website stuff so I would be willing to help out on that.

Thanks Alan but I checked them out before. Not really interested in that approach but thanks for the tip. I would prefer something stand alone, leveraging people then money unless someone is donating some :)

I think, given the size and continued growth of the guild, a guild website is almost a must. Once thing to consider though: Think of how many people the forum has drawn in. Imagine how many a website would. I hope you all are better at remembering names than I am!

I'd be glad to help with the site. If we need hosting space, I can provide that. A standard PHP Nuke site sounds good. Should allow for very democratic content control and still infinite tweakability on the back end. And of course, good community support.

So what will the purpose of the site be? I see two uses: A recruiting tool / face to the world. And a way to better coordinate within the guild (Roster, Events, etc)

Do we want to start discussing content? I guess I will start:

Guild Roster / Member Bios
Forum (Keep using CGA I assume?)
About The Forgiven
Links

News Topics
----------------